The unofficial Makies fan forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Excited and waiting for Aspen :)

+5
Purple_Monkfish
MuseStyle
jupiternames
MissRead
phoebemonkey
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Excited and waiting for Aspen :)  Empty Excited and waiting for Aspen :)

Post by phoebemonkey Sun May 31, 2015 9:12 pm

I just recently discovered Makies from the 'toys like me' campaign, and I think they're awesome! 

I'm an artist and my mum helps me sell some of my designs as prints, mugs, cards etc on Etsy and at craft fairs. Because I'm autistic I don't like all the business stuff (mainly because I struggle with verbal communication and I'm rubbish at paperwork etc!) - I just like the drawing bit! Although I mostly draw cartoon penguins - my website's called 'Penguin Parade', I also draw a little character called Aspen. She's based on me and is also autistic - I've made a couple of little books with her, and she also features on the autism e-learning course I helped develop for my local council. 

I have a lot of difficulty imagining Aspen in different poses/from different angles due to my autism, so I thought it would be a great idea to make a Makie version of Aspen - then I can put her in poses and draw from her! Smile I ordered her on Thursday so I can't wait for her to arrive!